The Ecornet Berlin research partnership

Research to promote sustainable urban development in Berlin

Image

Ecornet Berlin is a research partnership comprised of five Berlin institutes working in transdisciplinary sustainability research. The network, which is unique in this form, provides impetus for Berlin’s transformation into a metropolis that is socially and environmentally sustainable. The institutes pool their research expertise in the research fields of social climate transformation, sustainable economies and digitalization with the aim of enhancing Berlin’s role as a pioneer in the development of innovative approaches for a liveable, solidary, “resource-light” and climate-neutral urban society. Working together with urban stakeholders, the research partners want to drive Berlin’s sustainable urban development, focusing on social and environmental change and the related issues of participation, distribution and justice.

The members of the Ecornet Berlin research partnership are: Ecologic Institute, Institute for Ecological Economy Research (IÖW), Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment (IZT), Oeko-Institut and the Independent Institute for Environmental Issues (UfU). The network grew out of many years of cooperation among the five research institutions of the Ecological Research Network (Ecornet), a network made up of independent, non-profit institutes engaged in environmental and sustainability research in Germany. Its mission is to help shape the sustainable transformation of society and provide a scientific foundation to support this change.

Image

As part of the project “Knowledge. Transformation. Berlin”, the Ecornet Berlin research partnership is seeking to strengthen Berlin’s role as a pioneer in developing innovative approaches to a city that is liveable, “resource-light” and climate-neutral.

The project is funded by the Governing Mayor of Berlin, Senate Chancellery – Higher Education and Research.


Learn more:

Über den Forschungsverbund Ecornet Berlin

Forschung für eine nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung Berlins

Image
Image
Überblick Ecornet Berlin Institute

Ecornet Berlin ist ein Forschungsverbund aus fünf Berliner Instituten der transdisziplinären Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Der in dieser Form einzigartige Zusammenschluss setzt Impulse für den Wandel Berlins hin zu einer sozialen und ökologischen Metropole. In den Themenfeldern Klimawende sozial, Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften und Digitalisierung bündeln die Institute ihre Forschungskompetenzen mit dem Ziel, Berlins Vorreiterrolle bei der Entwicklung innovativer Ansätze für eine lebenswerte, solidarische, klimaneutrale und ressourcenleichte Stadtgesellschaft auf innovative Weise auszubauen. Gemeinsam mit Akteuren der Stadtgesellschaft wollen die Forschungspartner die nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung Berlins mit Fokus auf sozial-ökologische Transformationen und damit verbundene Beteiligungs-, Verteilungs- und Gerechtigkeitsfragen voranbringen.

Mitglied des Forschungsverbunds Ecornet Berlin sind: Ecologic Institut, Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung (IÖW), Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung (IZT), Öko-Institut und Unabhängiges Institut für Umweltfragen (UfU). Der Verbund entstand aus langjähriger Kooperation im Ecological Research Network (Ecornet), einem Netzwerk acht unabhängiger, gemeinnütziger Institute der Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in Deutschland, das die Mission verfolgt, den gesellschaftlichen Wandel in Richtung Nachhaltigkeit mitzugestalten und wissenschaftlich zu fundieren.

Image
Image
Zitat Steffen Krach (Senatskanzlei Berlin): Berlin muss als Hauptstadt und Innovationsmetropole Impulsgeberin für den Klimaschutz sein. Mit dem Forschungsverbund Ecornet Berlin gewinnen wir einen weiteren wichtigen Partner, der uns mit seiner geballten Kompetenz darin unterstützen wird, den Wandel Berlins hin zu einer klimaneutralen Stadt sozial und ökologisch zu gestalten.

Im Projekt "Wissen. Wandel. Berlin." verfolgt der Forschungsverbund Ecornet Berlin das Ziel, Berlins Vorreiterrolle auszubauen bei innovativen Ansätzen für eine lebenswerte, klimaneutrale und ressourcenleichte Stadt.

Das Projekt wird mit finanzieller Unterstützung des Regierenden Bürgermeisters, Senatskanzlei – Wissenschaft und Forschung Berlin durchgeführt.


Mehr erfahren: