The Berlin Ecornet Institutes

View-Institute: Introtext

Image


The Ecornet Berlin research partnership grew out of many years of cooperation among the institutes participating in the Ecological Research Network (Ecornet), a network made up of independent, non-profit institutes engaged in environmental and sustainability research in Germany. Its mission is to help shape social change towards sustainability and provide its scientific foundation.

The Ecornet institutes develop concrete solutions for an environmentally sustainable and socially just present and future. From the very beginning, the Ecornet institutes have specialized in practically oriented research that transcends the boundaries of scientific disciplines. High priority is given to linking the problems encountered in practice with the knowledge gained through their work. Dialogue with experts and stakeholders in society ensures that the research results are relevant to society.

Research in the Ecornet institutes is structured along thematic fields such as consumption, climate, energy, biodiversity, mobility and resources, including water and land use. Fact-based and straightforward communication as a basis for broad discourse plays a prominent role in the Ecornet institutes’ philosophy.

More information on the entire Ecological Research Network is available at www.ecornet.eu.
 

 


 

The members of the Ecornet Berlin research partnership

Image
Logo des Ecologic Instituts

The Ecologic Institute is specialized in applied environmental research, policy analysis and consultancy, and was founded in Berlin in 1995. As a private, independent institute, it is dedicated to bringing new ideas into environmental policy, promoting sustainable development and improving...

Topic cluster(s) within the research network:

Social climate transformation

How can the decarbonization of the electricity, heat and transport sectors be socially equitable?

Sustainable Economies

How can Berlin become a flagship for alternative business practices and circular economy models?

Digitalization

How can the course be set for a social and environmental digital transformation in Berlin?
Image
UfU

The Independent Institute for Environmental Issues (UfU) conducts research in the fields of climate protection  and transformative education, environmental law and participation, nature conservation  and environmental communication as well as energy transition and energy efficiency...

Topic cluster(s) within the research network:

Social climate transformation

How can the decarbonization of the electricity, heat and transport sectors be socially equitable?

Digitalization

How can the course be set for a social and environmental digital transformation in Berlin?
Image
ioew

The Institute for Ecological Economy Research (IÖW) is a leading scientific institute working in the field of practice-oriented sustainability research. More than 60 staff members develop strategies and approaches for viable, long-term economic activity – in other words, an economy that...

Topic cluster(s) within the research network:

Social climate transformation

How can the decarbonization of the electricity, heat and transport sectors be socially equitable?

Sustainable Economies

How can Berlin become a flagship for alternative business practices and circular economy models?
Image
izt

The Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment is an independent research institution founded in 1981 and based in Berlin. The non-profit institute conducts research projects, organizes scientific and public events, compiles expert reports and advises policy-makers, the...

Topic cluster(s) within the research network:

Sustainable Economies

How can Berlin become a flagship for alternative business practices and circular economy models?

Digitalization

How can the course be set for a social and environmental digital transformation in Berlin?
Image
oeko-institut

Oeko-Institut is a leading independent European research and consultancy institute working for a sustainable future. Founded in 1977, the institute develops principles and strategies for realising the vision of sustainable development globally, nationally and locally. The institute employs...

Topic cluster(s) within the research network:

Social climate transformation

How can the decarbonization of the electricity, heat and transport sectors be socially equitable?

Sustainable Economies

How can Berlin become a flagship for alternative business practices and circular economy models?

Digitalization

How can the course be set for a social and environmental digital transformation in Berlin?

Die Berliner Ecornet-Institute

View-Institute: Introtext

Image


Der Forschungverbund Ecornet Berlin entstand aus langjähriger Kooperation im Ecological Research Network (Ecornet), einem Netzwerk acht unabhängiger, gemeinnütziger Institute der Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in Deutschland, das die die Mission verfolgt, den gesellschaftlichen Wandel in Richtung Nachhaltigkeit mitzugestalten und wissenschaftlich zu fundieren.

Die Ecornet-Institute erarbeiten konkrete Lösungen für eine ökologisch tragfähige und sozial gerechte Gegenwart und Zukunft. Von Anfang an haben sich die Ecornet-Institute darauf spezialisiert, praxisnah und über die Grenzen der wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen hinweg zu arbeiten. Der enge Bezug zu den Problemstellungen der Praxis und dem hier gewonnenen Wissen hat dabei hohe Priorität. Der Dialog mit den gesellschaftlichen Wissensträgern und Stakeholdern sichert die gesellschaftliche Relevanz der Forschungsergebnisse.

Die Forschung in den Ecornet-Instituten ist strukturiert entlang von Themenfeldern wie Konsum, Klima, Energie, Biodiversität, Mobilität oder Ressourcen, darunter Wasser und Landnutzung. Eine herausragende Rolle für das Selbstverständnis der Ecornet-Institute spielt die sachliche und verständliche Kommunikation als Basis für einen breiten Diskurs.

Mehr Informationen zum gesamten Ecological Research Network auf: www.ecornet.eu.


 

Die Mitgliedsinstitute des Forschungsverbunds Ecornet Berlin

Image
Logo des Ecologic Instituts

Das Ecologic Institut ist ein 1995 in Berlin gegründetes Institut für angewandte Umweltforschung, Politikanalyse und Beratung. Als privates, unabhängiges Institut widmet es sich der Aufgabe, neue Ideen in die Umweltpolitik einzubringen, nachhaltige Entwicklung zu fördern und die...

Themenbereich(e) im Forschungsverbund :

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

Wie kann Berlin zu einem Leuchtturm für alternative Ökonomien und zirkuläre Geschäftsmodelle werden?

Klimawende Sozial

Wie gelingt es, Strom, Wärme und Verkehr sozialverträglich zu dekarbonisieren?

Digitalisierung

Wie können die Weichen für eine sozial-ökologische digitale Transformation in Berlin gestellt werden?
Image
ioew

Das Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung ist ein führendes wissenschaftliches Institut auf dem Gebiet der praxisorientierten Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Über 60 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter erarbeiten Strategien und Handlungsansätze für ein zukunftsfähiges Wirtschaften – für...

Themenbereich(e) im Forschungsverbund :

Klimawende Sozial

Wie gelingt es, Strom, Wärme und Verkehr sozialverträglich zu dekarbonisieren?

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

Wie kann Berlin zu einem Leuchtturm für alternative Ökonomien und zirkuläre Geschäftsmodelle werden?
Image
izt

Das Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung ist eine 1981 gegründete, unabhängige Forschungseinrichtung mit Sitz in Berlin. Das gemeinnützige Institut führt Forschungsprojekte sowie wissenschaftliche und öffentliche Veranstaltungen durch, erstellt Gutachten und berät Politik...

Themenbereich(e) im Forschungsverbund :

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

Wie kann Berlin zu einem Leuchtturm für alternative Ökonomien und zirkuläre Geschäftsmodelle werden?

Digitalisierung

Wie können die Weichen für eine sozial-ökologische digitale Transformation in Berlin gestellt werden?
Image
oeko-institut

Das Öko-Institut ist eine der europaweit führenden, unabhängigen Forschungs- und Beratungs-einrichtungen für eine nachhaltige Zukunft. Seit der Gründung im Jahr 1977 erarbeitet das Institut Grundlagen und Strategien, wie die Vision einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung global, national und lokal...

Themenbereich(e) im Forschungsverbund :

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

Wie kann Berlin zu einem Leuchtturm für alternative Ökonomien und zirkuläre Geschäftsmodelle werden?

Digitalisierung

Wie können die Weichen für eine sozial-ökologische digitale Transformation in Berlin gestellt werden?

Klimawende Sozial

Wie gelingt es, Strom, Wärme und Verkehr sozialverträglich zu dekarbonisieren?
Image
UfU

Das Unabhängige Institut für Umweltfragen forscht unter dem Credo Umweltwissenschaft bürgernah in den Fachgebieten Klimaschutz und Transformative Bildung, Umweltrecht und Partizipation, Naturschutz und Umweltkommunikation sowie Energiewende und Energieeffizienz. Das im Wendejahr 1990...

Themenbereich(e) im Forschungsverbund :

Klimawende Sozial

Wie gelingt es, Strom, Wärme und Verkehr sozialverträglich zu dekarbonisieren?

Digitalisierung

Wie können die Weichen für eine sozial-ökologische digitale Transformation in Berlin gestellt werden?