Policy Briefs

Empfehlungen für eine sozialverträgliche Wärmewende in Berlin

Image
Ecornet Berlin Policy-Brief 2 - Sozialverträgliche Wärmewende
Authorship
Julika Weiß, Katja Schumacher, Janis Bergmann, Viktoria Noka, Steven Salecki, Elisa Dunkelberg

The reduction of heat demand through energy-efficient building refurbishment and the switch to renewable energies and waste heat in the heat supply are the two central components of the transition of the heating sector in Berlin. The implementation of these climate protection measures is accompanied by considerable investments, but also benefits, for example through reduced heating costs after a refurbishment. Tenants fear additional burdens due to energy-efficient refurbishments when the modernisation costs are allocated. Low-income households in particular can be heavily burdened by this...

Wie gelingt der urbane Solar-Turbo?

Image
Ecornet Berlin Policy Brief 1
Authorship
Katharina Umpfenbach

Solar energy is the most important renewable energy source that can be tapped in Berlin's urban area. The state government has therefore set the goal of covering 25 percent of Berlin's electricity supply from solar energy. To achieve this, the city's installed photovoltaic (PV) capacity must be expanded to 34 times the 2020 level.

Such a dynamization of the expansion can only be achieved if all building types are included - including multifamily buildings. However, the current model for subsidizing tenant electricity has crucial shortcomings, so a fresh start seems possible only with a...

Policy Briefs

Empfehlungen für eine sozialverträgliche Wärmewende in Berlin

Image
Ecornet Berlin Policy-Brief 2 - Sozialverträgliche Wärmewende
Autorenschaft
Julika Weiß, Katja Schumacher, Janis Bergmann, Viktoria Noka, Steven Salecki, Elisa Dunkelberg

Die Reduktion des Wärmebedarfs durch die energetische Gebäudesanierung und die Umstellung auf erneuerbare Energien und Abwärme in der Wärmeversorgung sind die beiden zentralen Bestandteile einer Wärmewende in Berlin. Mit der Umsetzung dieser Klimaschutzmaßnahmen gehen erhebliche Investitionen einher, aber auch Nutzen beispielsweise durch reduzierte Heizkosten nach einer Sanierung. Mietende fürchten durch energetische Sanierungen zusätzliche Belastungen, wenn die Modernisierungskosten umgelegt werden. Insbesondere einkommensschwache Haushalte können hierdurch stark belastet werden. Besonders...

Wie gelingt der urbane Solar-Turbo?

Image
Ecornet Berlin Policy Brief 1
Autorenschaft
Katharina Umpfenbach

Solarenergie ist die wichtigste erneuerbare Energiequelle, die im Berliner Stadtgebiet erschlossen werden kann. Die Landesregierung hat sich deshalb das Ziel gesetzt, 25 Prozent der Berliner Stromversorgung aus Solarenergie zu decken. Dafür muss die installierte Photovoltaik-Leistung (PV) der Stadt auf das 34-fache des Niveaus von 2020 ausgebaut werden.

Eine solche Dynamisierung des Ausbaus ist nur zu erreichen, wenn alle Gebäudetypen einbezogen werden – auch Mehrfamilienhäuser. Das derzeitige Modell zur Förderung von Mieterstrom weist allerdings entscheidende Defizite auf, sodass ein...